Mmmm….butter…

1 11 2008

Inspired by last weeks “The Splendid Table” radio broadcast, I decided to make butter today.  I got a pint of cream from South Mountain Creamery in Middletown and a pint of cream from Trickling Springs Creamery in Chambersburg, PA (well, I got it at the Common Market).  I followed the instructions on the Splendid Table’s website and soon had two nice-sized lumps o’ butter.  We had a tasting.  The butter made from South Mountain had a bit of the dairy smell to it, if you know what I mean.  A back of the nose smell/taste that reminded me of the dairy.  Which, honestly, is a bit stinky, but it came of as slightly cheese-y in the butter.  The Trickling Springs butter just tasted super clean.  Like just pure dairy goodness.  As you might guess, that was the prefered butter all the way around.  I think I will add salt to the South Mountain one (cracked sea salt so I get little crispy chunks now and again) and leave the TS one pure.

For fun, I tried a few add-ins.  I plucked the last of my nasturium blossoms and chopped them up and added them in–it was radishy and tasty.  I think it would be fantastic on a potato.  I chopped up a couple frozen strawberries and added those in–terrific on toast with honey.  Finally, I chopped an apple and added some cinnamon.  Yum.  That would be great on a waffle.  The troops have requested some basil butter with the last of the basil.  I cleaned out my Square Foot Gardens today and there was just a smattering of sad basil remaining.  I think it will be wonderful.  Because, you know, butter.  basil.  I think I’ll add a smidge of parmesan, too.  What could go wrong?

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 11 2008
fredfood

That’s so funny! Nick and I heard that segment yesterday in the car and we decided we’re going to make some butter this weekend. Based on what you said I think we’ll use the Trickling Springs Creamery cream.

10 11 2008
chris

We will have to plan a trip to Trickling Springs Creamery next summer. The ice cream is really yummy.

Leave a Reply

